Time frames of Pending Commands

ctarbox
Contributor II

iOS 11, JSS 99.101

In the past, with iOS 9.3.5 or IOS 10.x, when pushing Configuration Profiles or other Management commands to iOS devices they pushed out pretty quickly -- within a minute or two.

Now I am seeing that any change I make to a Configuration Profile or other commads initiated via the JSS can take up to 15 minutes or longer.

Has anyone else noticed these delays? Trying to figure out if its the newly released iOS or maybe a network issue on my end.

Cheryl Tarbox
Binghamton University

14 REPLIES 14

thejenbot
Contributor III

are you seeing any errors in your logs? or anything that might help explain the delays?

ctarbox
Contributor II

The Events Logs are only showing started and completed. I'm fairly new to managing the iOS devices. Where would other logs be located that may be relevant?

kwsenger
Contributor

@ctarbox We are seeing the same thing. Our commands push through in a consistent 9 minutes. Config profiles changes almost happened in an instant before. We have a case open with Jamf support.

miregan
Contributor II

My changes to config profiles are pretty much instant

jmahlman
Valued Contributor

I'm seeing this on iOS and MacOS; about 15 minutes it seems.

AVmcclint
Honored Contributor

Have you had any changes to your network infrastructure? Proxies, firewalls, and any other network security tools will absolutely get in the way of APNS working in a timely manner.

ctarbox
Contributor II

Thanks, all for the replies.

It's interesting to note, that is isn't just me that is seeing this lag.

@AVmcclint We are always in constant change and upgrades to our network. I will speak with the Network Admins and see what changes have been made since June (when was the last time I was working heavily with iOS and JAMF implementations).

Cheryl

thejenbot
Contributor III