Totally new to JAMF Mojave upgrade

achristoforatos
Contributor II

Hi everyone. I am completely new to JAMF. I've gone through several training videos. None of which really give good insight into upgrading a group of computers to Mojave. I have been able to set up Mojave installer to be pushed to the computers as we have an apple school account. But for the life of me cannot figure out how to get the installer to run without prompts and keep data in tact. Any and all help is totally appreciated.

33 REPLIES 33

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

To upgrade you want to run the following command so no prompts appear

#!/bin/bash

/PathTo/Install macOS Mojave.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --applicationpath /PathTo/Install macOS Mojave.app --agreetolicense --nointeraction

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208488

startosinstall commands

--usage: Displays all parameters available for the command.

--agreetolicense: Agrees to the license agreement during deployment (Required for automated deployments).

--rebootdelay: Delays reboot after preparation is complete, in seconds.

--eraseinstall: Erases the existing APFS volume prior to installing macOS.

--newvolumename: Renames the volume erased when used in conjunction with —eraseinstall.

--converttoapfs: Converts the existing filesystem to APFS. (Deprecated in macOS Mojave, however still exists in High Sierra).

--nointeraction: Undocumented parameter that automates the deployment process without prompts.

Virtual MacAdmins Monthly Meetup - First Friday, Every Month

achristoforatos
Contributor II

@Hugonaut Where would this script go?

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

2 Parts here,

1st Part. Create a script in your JPS Dashboard
Script contains

#!/bin/bash

/PathTo/Install macOS Mojave.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --applicationpath /PathTo/Install macOS Mojave.app --agreetolicense --nointeraction