Trying to create URL that takes user to System Preferences > Software Update

edelfert
New Contributor

I'm trying to set up Nudge which is a program that pings users to update their computer. I have everything in the JSON file setup, but I can't seem to find a way to create a URL for the button "Update Now" to take them to software update. The default uses "munki://updates" and the instructions take you to Jamf Self Service for macOS URL Schemes which seems to only take the user to Self Service? Would you have to make the button point to Self Service and create a link in Self Service that takes the user to Software Preferences? 

Forgive me if this is simple, I'm new to Jamf (and IT) and Google doesn't seem to have an answer. 

Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Maybe something like this would work:

file:///System/Library/PreferencePanes/SoftwareUpdate.prefPane

I believe that should open the SoftwareUpdate.prefpane in the System Preferences app.

pkleiber
Contributor

Hi @edelfert, here is a good article regarding Making Links Launch Mac Apps & Preferences (And a Script to List URL-Callable PrefPanes & Their Addresses)

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/creating-web-links-launch-mac-apps-preferences-script-nick-tong/

You can create a hyperlink to x-apple.systempreferences:com.apple.preferences.softwareupdate on a web page or in an e-mail like this:

<a href="x-apple.systempreferences:com.apple.preferences.softwareupdate">Click to be taken to Software Update on Your Mac</a>.

Fluffy
Contributor III

The default is supposed to be blank, according to the wiki. For my instance, I left all of the elements blank and used the stock Simple Mode UI. Clicking on the update button would bring up the Software Updates window. It is worth noting I did this with a Configuration Profile, not a JSON schema.

Might be worth a shot leaving actionButtonPath unconfigured in your schema.

swapple
Contributor III