unable to create netboot image

sidhu_navdeep
New Contributor

Hi Folks,

I'm still learning Casper, so need your help. I'm trying to create a net boot image so that it can be uploaded at Net Boot server for Mac imaging.

I installed Mavericks OS X 10.9.5 on an external drive, did necessary customization so that the size of the net boot image can be reduced. After that, from another Mac (running on 10.9.5), I fired up System Image Utility, selected that external drive & tried to create net boot image. The wizard run & at step "Copying Source Volume" it gave below error

Image Creation failed - The operation couldn't be completed (system image utility error 2.)

Any help in this regard would be highly appreciated.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Looking on the Apple support pages it might be a mismatch issue with the OS versions.

Alternatively it could be a problem with the source or target drive.

Have you tried using @bentoms AutoCasperNBI? It's worked every time for me.

View solution in original post

daz_wallace
Contributor III

Hi @sidhu_navdeep

That matches with my understanding.

At minimum, you need to add:
- the IP address / range the netSUS is on (possibly just IP Address and 255.255.255.255)
- the the IP address / range your netboot clients are on.

Hope that helps!

Darren

View solution in original post

36 REPLIES 36

Carlos
New Contributor

Hi Sidhu,

How did you install 10.9.5 on the external drive? From the install OS X application? If you installed from the combo update it will leave the recovery partition all messed up. Also, do you have enough free space on the Mac running SIU to save the image?

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Looking on the Apple support pages it might be a mismatch issue with the OS versions.

Alternatively it could be a problem with the source or target drive.

Have you tried using @bentoms AutoCasperNBI? It's worked every time for me.