Waiting Room folder permissions

cclapper
New Contributor

Im new to jamf, so bear with me. I have a script that runs just fine if the user is logged in as Root, but not as an admin. The script is removing an old asset management client. What ive found, is the rights on Waiting Room is limiting the script from running successfully. If there a way to grant everyone access to the Waiting Room folder?

5 REPLIES 5

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

The Waiting Room permissions are set to root only on purpose by Jamf. I don't know the specific reason why, but my guess is since it's a caching location, Jamf probably figured it would be best to limit access to this folder from prying eyes so users cannot grab items from it to store for later or delete them if they are trying to bypass a policy that will run later, for example.
That being said, I would not mess with the permissions on it. It might be fine to do it, but I would probably leave it alone personally.

Any scripts that run from a Jamf Pro policy run with root privileges and should have no problem with, say, removing the contents or reading the contents of the Waiting Room folder. It will not be able to show the contents in the Finder to someone however, since the root privs only apply in the shell when the script is running.

Maybe you can elaborate on what you need to do that would require a regular non root account having access to that folder. Maybe there's a better approach you can take if you help us understand the need.

cclapper
New Contributor

I just found a work around, but for my own understanding ill elaborate. We are removing an agent from a program called BMC Asset Core. The removal script is a txt file from BMC. I packaged the txt file into a DMG and am deploying the DMG to the targeted computers, and using a script to open the DMG, and sudo the txt file. From there the agent removes itself from the MacBook. Im assuming the issue is in the "open file.dmg" stage.