Demote local admin accounts to standard.

VinV
New Contributor II

Hello All,

I am very new to Jamf pro. Getting trained on it. I am looking for a policy or configuration profile which can demote the local admin user/ account to a standard one. We do not have AD. Everything controlled by Jamf pro
Any help would be much appreciated!!!

Thanks!!

12 REPLIES 12

palmeida
New Contributor III

In short it's something like

dseditgroup -o edit -d $user -t user admin
where $user is the target username

To demote all users found which are not the users we care about we use

#!/bin/sh

adminUsers=$(dscl . -read Groups/admin GroupMembership | cut -c 18-)

for user in $adminUsers
do
    if [ "$user" != "root" ]  && [ "$user" != "####" ]  && [ "$user" != "jamfadmin" ] && [ "$user" != "####" ]
    then 
        if [ $? = 0 ]; then echo "Removed user $user from admin group"; fi
    else
        echo "Admin user $user left alone"
    fi
done

hastags are other admin accounts we use.

we this next one to make the current user an admin

U=`who |grep console| awk '{print $1}'`

# give current logged user admin rights
/usr/sbin/dseditgroup -o edit -a $U -t user admin

These scripts were found here or on github. You can maybe use this last method to get the current user and then use the first one to actually demote the user.

EDIT
For clarity, as I was definitely not clear, a short breakdown:

get a list of users in the admin group and store them in variable adminUsers (I like plural variable names for lists)

adminUsers=$(dscl . -read Groups/admin GroupMembership | cut -c 18-)

take the items in the adminUsers variable, do the following operation on each individually. We will refer to each item as the variable user when we do the individual operations

for user in $adminUsers

first we will check if any of the following are true or false using the 'if' and the brackets [].