Disabling FileVault for Users

rquigley
Contributor

I work in education and we have roughly 750 machines across 3 campuses.

My issue is really two but on the same issue.

The first one is students are given Administrator access, this is largely fine and we have little issues with them, however, they are able to encrypt their HDD, occasionally they come in with issues and we are left with the issue of having to tell them that encrypting their HDD is slowing us down from resolving their machine and that it will need to sit overnight to decrypt.

Is there a way without removing the Recovery Partition or removing Administrator access to lock off the FileVault button, not all of Security & Privacy. It doesn't have to be completely broken, if a user wishes to use it, they probably will but most of our machines are encrypted because of our second issue.

With their update to Yosemite, they are asked to Turn On FileVault encryption. With it already ticked, they simply continue through and we are left with the same situation. Is it possible at all to remove the Setup Assistant in this instance to prevent students from encrypting their HDD without them understanding what is really the cause behind it?

Thanks.

12 REPLIES 12

rderewianko
Valued Contributor II

The easiest would be to disable FileVault from the Security and Privacy Tab. (as this is where i'd expect my users to find it first). Unfortunately, there's a few other places that encryption can be turned on/off.In the os & in the recovery partition.

To disable the Security and Privacy setting on the os. Create a config profile that allows access to all preferences but that one. At the same time, just for ease of use "Enable FileVault FileVault Recovery Key Redirection". The JSS will then collect keys when your users do encyrpt.

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@rquigley I'd second @rderewianko's FV key redirect option.

That should give you another way to decrypt.