Is it possible for Non-DEP Devices to be registered through a certified reseller after the fact ?

Redica
New Contributor II

I am looking into managing 97 iMac devices for a school and our client would like to organize through Apple School Manager due to the higher security for DEP devices. That said i am not sure where those devices have been bought. But just in general is it possible to have devices be registered for DEP usage by a certified reseller after the fact if we can supply receipts etc. ?

Sorry for the stupid question but i am very new to MacOS Enrollment and only have some prior experience enrolling Android Tablets through a MDM solution like Scalefusion.

Kind Regards
Carsten

4 REPLIES 4

dgreening
Valued Contributor II

Typically it will have to be the reseller which they were purchased though, and we have had good luck getting our resellers to do exactly this.

frootion
New Contributor III

It’s just possible if the devices were bought through a DEP Reseller and for models later than 2012.

Fortunately Apple announced a way to do this manually a few weeks ago at the WWDC.
Maybe you would like to have a look into this 10min video:

https://developer.apple.com/wwdc21/10297

Unfortunately the process needs devices running a T2 or Apple Silicon Chip and macOS Monterey. But it should definitely help for future purchases.

Best,
D.

Redica
New Contributor II

Thank you for the answers. Its unfortunate that Apple Configurator will only be usable on new macOS devices but a interesting thing to keep in mind for the future.

As for the Apple School manager topic, in another thread PaulHazelden said this :