Lightspeed User Agent Script

egill
New Contributor III

We have recently installed a new Lightspeed Rocket. I have pushed out a new User Agent to all of our Mac's to make sure everything is up-to-date. However, the new user agent doesn't appear to be syncing with the Rocket. There is a script that they say to run in terminal after an install (sudo defaults write useragent IdentServer -string “..."). I'm trying to figure out a way to push this out either through Casper Remote or JSS. It needs to be run as administrator or in root so I put together a basic script and pushed it to a test machine. No matter how I've tried my script fails when pushed out through JSS or Casper Remote. Anyone else had luck with this??

!#/bin/sh
sudo defaults write useragent IdentServer -string "<Rocket IP>"

Full Disclosure: I'm new to Casper and Mac's in general in the last few months haha, Thanks!

13 REPLIES 13

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

Can you screenshot how you setup the policy in your JSS?

egill
New Contributor III

@mvu I have the general information set so that it will install once per computer at startup, login, or check in. I have the script saved via casper admin in the share. Below is the screenshot of the Scripts portion. Thanks for looking at this.

obi-k
Valued Contributor II

Maybe give the Lightspeed community a post? Or submit a ticket with them? Looks like you got all correct.

egill
New Contributor III

Thanks @mvu, I'll give that a try, I appreciate your time and help.

mbuckner
Contributor

We capture the UserAgent and the script via Composer. That command saves the info to /var/root/Library/Preferences/useragent.plist. You could always grab that file and push it out.

Mark

rusty_adams
New Contributor III

You can run that command line under Files and Processes - Execute command from a policy and take out the sudo since Casper runs it as root by default:

defaults write useragent IdentServer -string "xx.xx.xx.xx"