Mac OS end of life. How long do you continue to patch a mac os

LoganS
New Contributor II

Hi I was wondering what my fellow Jamf administrators did about patching macOS as far as lifecycle. I'm a long time SCCM admin and very familiar on the windows side but still a little green on macOS. I'm currently getting my neglected macs up to mac OS 11 as a baseline but I'm wondering do you always stay on the latest version? I've heard Apple supports macs 2 releases back but I'm unsure on that. I would like to only patch one version so maybe I stick to 11 and when 11.whatever comes out when I've tested and ready I just move all of them. With windows I usually stay like n-1 and as long as I'm on a supported release with security patches I'm ok and just update every other release so skip 2004 upgrade to 20H2 etc. Also what does everyone do on upgrading mac os. Our infosec blocks apples update servers so I usually have to off network download the latest full installer upload it as a dmg (since its too big for a package) and I have a script that takes the .app and puts it in applications and then runs it silently. Is that the best way? 12GB update every patch is kind of big lol although its not impossible to do.

3 REPLIES 3

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@lbseals Installing macOS updates these days requires a network connection even if you have downloaded the installer, so you need to get your InfoSec team on-board.You'll want to reference the Use Apple products on enterprise networks KB article from Apple on what servers are needed.

IMO N-1 is preferred for what versions of macOS I want to see deployed in my environment, but N-2 is usually doable. Apple typically provides Security Updates for N-2 and Microsoft's support for the Mac version of Office is N-2 (see Upgrade macOS to continue receiving Microsoft 365 and Office for Mac updates)