Mass Update Operating System Not Working

OfficeReady23
New Contributor

Hi All,

Apologies here I am new to JAMF Pro so forgive me if I have missed something obvious:

I have followed this guide here:

https://trainingcatalog.jamf.com/update-macos-1/372407

This is about doing a mass update of the OS. I have followed all the guides and document under Remote Commands - Update OS version and built in apps - Target version - latest version based on device eligibility - download and install the update, and restart computers after installation.

Is this not supposed to then update the computer automatically? Without the users interaction?

Looked into this as well and followed this but still nothing.

https://resources.jamf.com/documents/technical-papers/Deploying-macOS-Upgrades-with-Jamf-Pro.pdf

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

AJPinto
Honored Contributor II

What are the MDM responses your devices are giving? Have you checked the install.log on any of the Macs to see what it may be reporting?

• JAMF must have a bootstrap token escrowed to be able to update Apple Silicon devices.
  • Devices need to be enrolled with PreStage for mass action (MDM OS Update) commands to work.
  • Differed OS updates will still be deferred with MDM update commands. 

On a side note, JAMF really needs to update that training video. That is 5 years out of date now. Any information for using the softwareupdate binary, or any policies for OS updates is no longer relevant. The SoftwareUpdate Binary wont work on Apple Silicon Macs, you also cant use custom OS update servers anymore. 

I prefer to specify the update I want devices to install. 

AJPinto_0-1679593190145.png

If you need or want to use the update to Latest version based on device eligibility make sure to check the box Include major updates, if available.

AJPinto_1-1679593222433.png

jamf-42
Valued Contributor