Open a computer ID record in a browser via script

dan_gregson
New Contributor II

This would be ideal for our helpdesk/field technicians to launch the script from self service so when they are either remotely logged in or at the machine physically they can verify that the machine is in the correct site and check other things in the id page. I'm new to scripting so passing parameters ect is not my specialty.
Something like this where jamf.com is our jss

!/bin/sh

/usr/local/jamf/bin/jamf recon | grep '<computer_id>' > '/private/var/jss_computer_id.xml'

open -a /Applications/Safari.app https://Jamf.com:8443/computers.html?id='<computer_id>'&o=r

I know this doesn't pass the computer_id, but it does put the id locally in the xml file

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ryan_ball
Valued Contributor

@dan.gregson Here ya go. No need to hard code the JSS URL in there:

#!/bin/bash

jssURL=$(defaults read /Library/Preferences/com.jamfsoftware.jamf.plist jss_url | sed s'/.$//')
id=$(jamf recon | grep '<computer_id>' | xmllint --xpath xmllint --xpath '/computer_id/text()' -)

open -a "Safari" "$jssURL/computers.html?id=$id&o=r"

exit 0

As always with jamf commands you should run with sudo when testing.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

ryan_ball
Valued Contributor

@dan.gregson Here ya go. No need to hard code the JSS URL in there:

#!/bin/bash

jssURL=$(defaults read /Library/Preferences/com.jamfsoftware.jamf.plist jss_url | sed s'/.$//')
id=$(jamf recon | grep '<computer_id>' | xmllint --xpath xmllint --xpath '/computer_id/text()' -)

exit 0

As always with jamf commands you should run with sudo when testing.

dvasquez
Valued Contributor

Your handy script helped me simplify a gathering logs script I found. The script was mostly correct but the conversion and curl command was a little overdone. Your script helped me keep it simple. So thank you!

dan_gregson
New Contributor II

That is awesome. Thanks so much.

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

@ryan.ball