Poll: Supporting Windows Software

denmoff
Contributor III

I'm curious to know how others deal with users that wish to use a Mac and run Mac OS, but want to be able to run certain Windows only software. I see four main options:
A. Load bootcamp and run Windows as a second OS
B. Run a VM that runs Windows
C. Run a windows emulator like Codeweavers
D. Don't allow any of this. Have a policy that prohibits running Windows on a Mac.

I'm probably most curious to know how many people go with option D. I, personally, like going above and beyond to meet the needs of my users, but option A and B introduce the issue of running a second OS that needs to be kept up to date with patches and have antivirus running. Not to mention data backup. For those reasons, my organization already has a policy against doing A and B unless the user is a developer.

I have limited experience with Codeweavers, but the little i do have does not leave me with a lot of confidence that it will even work at all.

So, if you support a medium(50-150) to large number of Macs, which option/s do you use for your users?

11 REPLIES 11

CasperSally
Valued Contributor II

We use VMWare Fusion for the few that need it, mostly administrators. We manage it like any other PC with our PC Management Suite (Symantec 7.5), so it gets patches and antivirus like anything else.

No real issues, but it does take additional setup time versus a straight OSX build. Data backup is the responsibility of the user for us.

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

What ends up happening in our environment is MacBooks are issued to our Developers who often need Visual Studio for code and compiling. About 80% of the time we build them out a VM in VMware Fusion that is administered by SCCM with McAfee. The other 20% of the time we'll build them out a stable desktop with Windows that they can remote into with RDP that runs their Windows-specific junk.

Chris
Valued Contributor