"Cannot install" error in Self Service

jonlju
Contributor

Hi,

I'm trying to learn how to create packages and install them using Self Service. Normally here we have someone who knows Casper Suite much better than me but I'm a bit of a novice. I'm a bit lost as to what I'm missing being a novice?

I've used Composer to do two installation packages out of currently installed software,
namely Mozilla Firefox and Skype. I can package them fine, set editor rights for root and staff (being the default gidNumber our Mac users have) and then install the .pkg locally on my Mac.
However, if I add the package in Casper Admin and configure a Self Service Policy to be able to install the package from there, the installation will fail saying "Cannot Install Item - There was a problem installing Mozilla Firefox. Contact your administrator."

Update:
I tried logging in to Self Service (we normally don't require a user to log in to be able to install from Self Service), but then the installation ran but still provided me with the same error message. However, when checking jamf.log I found this, and I can open Firefox from Applications so it seems like it has been installed after all despite the error:

mån juli 18 13:39:25 watcnoclosxl001 jamf[8455]: Checking for policy ID 7...
mån juli 18 13:39:27 watcnoclosxl001 jamf[8455]: Executing Policy Mozilla Firefox
mån juli 18 13:39:28 watcnoclosxl001 jamf[8455]: Verifying package integrity...
mån juli 18 13:39:30 watcnoclosxl001 jamf[8455]: Installing Firefox.pkg...
mån juli 18 13:39:39 watcnoclosxl001 jamf[8455]: Successfully installed Firefox.pkg.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jonlju
Contributor

I removed the JAMF framework from the machine and added it back using QuickAdd.pkg, the installations are now going through fine. Thank you jonlju!

No problem jonlju.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

roiegat
Contributor III