Script To Assign a Secure Token and Add User to FV2

dennisnardi
Contributor

I've been struggling a bit making sense and creating a workflow around the secure token change and user creation/FV2 enabling. The workflow in my environment traditionally uses a script using dscl commands or the createuser.py to create our local admin account. The local admin account initiates FV2, then AD users log in and we enable them for FV2. This workflow is now extinct.

I'm creating a dummy account on the computer, then on enrollment a script runs using the sysadminctl commands to create my local account which prompts for gui authentication from my dummy account. This grants my local admin account a secure token and the ability to manage FV2. I can then delete the dummy account from the machine.

I created another script to Self Service that assigns a secure token to a user and enables them to unlock FV2 utilizing some user input.

I'm a very much a novice at bash, so my scripts are probably not the best, but with very little posted about secure tokens I figured I'd share and maybe help a few folks.

The script below creates my local admin account and enables it for ARD. A gui authentication window will pop up and you will have to enter the credentials of a user with a secure token for this to work correctly.

#!/bin/bash

#Created by Dennis Nardi on 2/20/18

acct='YOUR LOCAL ADMIN'
acctname='LONG NAME OF LOCAL ADMIN'
pass=$LOCAL ADMIN PASSWORD
pict="/PATH/TO/PICTURE.EXT"

# Create Admin Account
    sudo sysadminctl interactive -addUser $acct -password $pass -admin -UID 81 -fullName "$acctname" -hint love -picture "$pict"
if [[ $createacct == *error* ]]; then
    echo "Error: Unable to create $acct account: $createacct"
    exit 1
else
    /System/Library/CoreServices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/Resources/kickstart -configure -users $acct -access -on -privs -all -allowAccessFor -specifiedUsers -users $acct -clientopts -setmenuextra -menuextra yes -quiet