test software with parameters

pooja_ash_vv
New Contributor II

Hi ,

I want to test a application in jamf using parameters.I am completely new to Jamf and scripting.

sudo /Users/p/Downloads/ABCD Installer 8.app/Contents/MacOS/ABC Installer --quiet --update No --analytics No

The above code works in terminal.

How do I test same in Jamf ?
How do I get to know the application path in Jamf ?
and what should be the script ?
is it going to be 1 line scirpt ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

stevewood
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

@user-sNVOuZbYdW

I commented on your other post that I wasn't sure what you were trying to attempt, but I see now what you want to do.

The best way, in my opinion, would be to do this using a PKG file with a postinstall script. But if you're new to Mac management (unclear from your post) that might be a little bit much. I would suggest, if you can, picking up this book from @arminBriegel about packaging in macOS. It will help you a lot.

You could use Composer to create the package. I would suggest reviewing the Composer user guide for how to do this. You're going to want to add a postinstall script to the package that runs your command.

I would have Composer install the .app file into /private/tmp and then your script could be as simple as:

#!/bin/zsh
/private/tmp/ABCD Installer 8.app/Contents/MacOS/ABC Installer --quiet --update No --analytics No

Another option would be to create a package in Composer that simply drops the .app file into /private/tmp, add that to a policy, and then place /private/tmp/ABCD Installer 8.app/Contents/MacOS/ABC Installer --quiet --update No --analytics No into the Execute Command field of the Files and Processes tab of a policy.

Hope that helps point you in the right direction.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

stevewood
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

@user-sNVOuZbYdW