Recovery Partition not being reported?

JoySeeley
New Contributor III

Hello all!

Newbie here and I am tackling the recovery partitions with High Sierra and Mojave. I have a question.

I have Macintoshes running High Sierra and Mojave and when I do the diskutil list, it shows all of them having a recovery partition, with the exact same disk name (/dev/disk1s3) yet Jamf is stating that half of them don't have one and will fail if I try to kick off File Vault on them. Yet, I can go to the machine itself, and go to system preferences and it will start up File Vault, without issue.

I can also boot to the recovery partition. Am I missing something??

Thank you in advanced,
Joy

9 REPLIES 9

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@JoySeeley What version of Jamf Pro are you running? If not for your comment about "Jamf is stating half of them" I'd guess you have an older version that isn't APFS aware.

JoySeeley
New Contributor III

I am running 10.8 as we are just getting up and running on it so it is a brand new install.

The disk encryption for the Macs that Jamf is stating don't have a recovery partition, is working, so I'm not sure why they are reporting they don't have a recovery partition. The keys are being stored on the server, so I guess it's working...

anpender
New Contributor

I am on Jamf 10.7.1 and my Mojave machines all report ineligible for encryption due to no recovery partition, even the ones that are already encrypted. I would blame APFS but the same problem does not appear on High Sierra APFS systems. I was thinking I would do the 10.8 upgrade and that would probably address it, but sounds like that may not do the trick.

daniel_hayden
New Contributor III

I too am seeing this on 10.8

JoySeeley
New Contributor III

I'm glad to know I am not alone!! Now if we can find the solution.

dwilks_
New Contributor