Why does Apple hate us?

bwoods
Valued Contributor

I'm a relatively new mac admin, but since I've joined this community in 2018, it seems as if Apple is doing everything to prevent enterprise management. From PPPC, Notifications, Screen Sharing, and now M1 software updates...the list goes on. With every major macOS release, everyone on here goes into panic mode because Apple has either taken away vital MDM functionality or has a new user focused security feature. I honestly feel bad for the devs at Jamf. 

Anyway, I know that this is just how things are, but completely changing workflows every year just gets frustrating. Can't wait to see what "surprise mechanics" we get with macOS Monterey. Keep fighting the good fight ladies and gents.

14 REPLIES 14

junjishimazaki
Valued Contributor

I don't know if you know Apple also uses Jamf. So, they work with Jamf engineers to make their product work with each other.  

gabester
Contributor III

Apple does not hate us. They just don't think we should exist. They are striving to make their products so simple to manage that no technical expertise of any kind is required. Boffins can throw a lot of wrenches into that mix though so they are working hard to take away all our wrenches. We'll keep tilting at Apple's $2 Trillion windmill, but my experience for a decade now has been that every time they offer up a feature we want, they take away other control that is necessary to truly leverage the power of that feature, and usually in the name of "protecting the end user." 

Honestly I just wish Apple would spin off an enterprise hardware company for managed devices that actually listens to the needs and requirements of organizational administrators. 

A more appropriate question here might be why does Jamf hate us - the new Community is a substantial regression in usability... too many big buttons and the content text is too small, amongst a million other complaints. 

bwoods
Valued Contributor