New to the API, not sure where to start

ejculpepper
Contributor

I have been tasked with scripting and scheduling an API call to /mobiledevices to export device data to a CSV file. I would like to learn how to call the API using a Python script and schedule it on our Windows Server hosting our JSS.

I have read several pages of documentation on starting with the API and looked through several scripts, however I am still just not grasping the concept it seems. I have little experience with scripting, so some of the sample scripts I've seen seem intimidating.

Is there such a thing as a "skeleton" script that has the most basic needs to call the API and return output to the console or a CSV file? I think once I see the basics I can build on it from there, i'm just not understanding how it all comes together to produce any output.

15 REPLIES 15

blackholemac
Valued Contributor III

I am by no means an API expert but I can reference two posts to you:

The first one: https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/discussions/4078/jamf-rest-api-get

This one shows the most basic curl command to get some stuff from a given device record. Another guy posted on it with a script that helped that user.

The second one: https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/discussions/20197/pull-asset-tag-information-from-jss-record-for-use-in-bash-scripts

This one had a helpful post from @mm2270 trying to help someone formulate a good script for asset tags

ejculpepper
Contributor

Thanks @blackholemac , i'm currently building a script in python using the second link as a reference, i'll see what I can come up with.

danshaw
Contributor II

It kinda blows my mind why there isn't any documentation on the API from JAMF. I'm starting to use it more and more and the only way I have been able to figure it out is by scouring the discussions. Hope that changes.

boberito
Valued Contributor

Just to pat myself on the back my talk from the JNUC last year may help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdSWh0ld9IY