Mac mapping drive script

Nguyen
New Contributor III

Hi Everyone

Do anyone have best mapping drive script that could share with me. I would like script that do similar like windows mapping script.
that is when a user loggin (using windows AD account) Mac then it auto mount that user home drive and staff share
Please forgive me to ask a basic question because i am a newbie to the Mac world.

Cheers

7 REPLIES 7

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

I've an applescript app that maps drives & printers based on group membership.

http://macmule.com/2011/09/08/how-to-map-drives-printers-based-on-ad-group-membership-on-osx/

Matt
Valued Contributor

I use the drive mapping script from JAMF and an Extension Attribute + Smart Folder to map them to an AD group.

krischelj
New Contributor

Hi Matt, where do I find the JAMF mapping script and Extension Attribute?

evarona
New Contributor II

Jeff, I believe Matt's referring to the mountNetworkShare.sh script in the Resource Kit. I've used a variant of that with good effect.

Cheers.

georgecm12
Contributor III

Here's ours:

#!/bin/bash 
currentuser=$USER 
smbhome="$(dscl '/Active Directory/All Domains' -read /Users/$currentuser SMBHome)" 
if [ $? != "0" ] ; then 
        echo could not get smb home.  Offline? 
        exit 
fi 

smbhome=$(echo $smbhome|awk -F ': ' '{printf $2}'|perl -p -e 's/([^\:A-Za-z0-9-._~])/sprintf("%%%02X", ord($1))/seg'|sed -e 's/\///g') 

if [ "$smbhome" == '' ] ; then 
        echo could not get smb home.  Not defined for user $currentuser? 
        exit 
fi 
out='<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd"> 
<plist version="1.0"> 
<dict> 
        <key>URL</key> 
        <string>smb:'$smbhome'</string> 
</dict> 
</plist>' 
echo $out > ~/Q-Drive.inetloc 

/Library/Application Support/Q-Drive/seticon -d /Library/Application Support/Q-Drive/Q-drive.icns /Users/$USER/Q-Drive.inetloc