Script exit code: 127

JDaher
New Contributor III

Caveat emptor: I'm new to Jamf and this is my first post here.

I created a very simple script to change the computer name. I uploaded the script to Jamf Pro and created a policy to deploy the script. It works but Jamf reports it as a failure with this error:

**Script exit code: 127

Script result: /Library/Application Support/JAMF/tmp/JD - TEST: Change Computer Name: line 10: end: command not found

Error running script: return code was 127**

There is nothing in my script that references /Library/Application Support/JAMF/tmp

Can somebody tell me what I'm missing?

Thank you so much

6 REPLIES 6

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II

Can you post your script? If you have any company/personal information just sanitize it. It is probably an error in your script. (Hint: If you click on the button >_ and paste your code between the tick marks, it will properly format your code and make it easier to read)

JDaher
New Contributor III
#!/bin/bash

#This script will change the computer name. 

sudo scutil --set HostName <ComputerName>
sudo scutil --set ComputerName <ComputerName>
sudo scutil --set LocalHostName <ComputerName>

end

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II

Take the end command out. The script will end by itself. (You can also use exit, but it redundant).

ETA: The sudo commands are redundant and not necessary if you are running this in a Jamf policy. All scripts run as root when run from Jamf.

cbrewer
Valued Contributor II

What are you trying to change the computer name to? Typically you would provide computer name as a variable by either specifying it or prompting the user for it. Then your commands would look something like scutil --set LocalHostName ${computerName}. Also, no need to put sudo in scripts run by Jamf since they are already running as root.

Example:

#!/bin/bash

computerName="1234567890"

scutil --set HostName ${computerName}
scutil --set ComputerName ${computerName}